Every parent, tutor, or other person residing within the state of Louisiana having control or charge of any child from that child's seventh birthday until his eighteenth birthday, shall send such child to a public or private day school, unless the child graduates from high school prior to his eighteenth birthday or there is another legal exception. Any child below the age of seven who legally enrolls in school shall also be subject to the provisions of this Subpart. Every parent, tutor, or other person responsible for sending a child to a public or private day school under provisions of this Subpart shall also assure the attendance of such child in regularly assigned classes during regular school hours established by the school board.
Visiting teachers or supervisors of child welfare and attendance, with the approval of the superintendents of schools, shall file proceedings in court to enforce the provisions of the mandatory school attendance law.
Each school shall develop and implement a system whereby the school shall attempt to notification to a child's parent, tutor, or legal guardian when that child has been absent from school as set forth in Policy H-2.1.
The parent, tutor, or legal guardian of a child who remains enrolled beyond his sixteenth birthday may request that the student be allowed to attend an alternative education
program or a vocational - technical education program or an approved effective adult education program. In the case of a child who has no parent or guardian responsible for him, the Superintendent may act as the parent in making the request. Upon such request, the Superintendent shall be responsible for the following:
1. The determination of whether the student remains in the regular school setting or attends an alternative education program or a vocational - technical education program.
2. The development and implementation of an individualized plan of education for such students.
The provisions set forth in this policy shall not be applicable to any child who is under the age of seventeen and is attending or seeking admission to a National Guard Youth Challenge Program in the state of Louisiana and the parent, tutor, or legal guardian of any such child shall not be considered in violation of these provisions.
Legal Reference: LSA-R.S. 17:221.
ATTENDANCE OF STUDENTS
I. Students must attend school between the ages of 7 and 18.
II. The school year (term) contains the number of instructional minutes adopted by the Board each year.
III. Once a high school student has missed more than 8 days (excused or unexcused), then that student will not receive credit for that semester's work. Elementary students who have missed more than 16 days (excused or unexcused) will not receive credit for that term of work.
IV. The only exception to the attendance regulation will be extenuating circumstances that are verified by the School principal/designee or Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance. Extenuating circumstances must be cleared within five school days of the student's return to school, absent some unusual circumstance and in order to prevent manifest injustice.
1. Extended personal physical or emotional illness as verified by a physician or nurse practitioner licensed in the state;
2. Extended hospital stay as verified by a physician or dentist
3. Extended recuperation from an accident as verified by a physician or dentist or nurse practitioner licensed in the state;
4. Extended contagious disease within a family as verified by a physician or dentist
5. Prior system-approved travel for education
6. Death in the immediate family (not to exceed one week)
7. Natural catastrophe and/or disaster
8. Observance of special and recognized holidays of the student’s own faith;
9. Visitation with a parent who is a member of the United States Armed Forces or the National Guard of the state and such parent has been called to duty for or is on leave from overseas deployment to a combat zone or combat support zone. Excused absences in this situation shall not exceed five (5) school days per year.
10. For any other extenuating circumstances parents must make a formal appeal in accordance with the due process procedures established by the local school system.
V. Students who are verified as meeting extenuating circumstances and therefore eligible to receive grades shall not receive those grades if they are unable to
complete makeup work or pass the course or grade.
Types of absences:
A. The days absent for elementary and secondary school students shall include non-exempted excused, exempted excused, unexcused absences, and suspensions.
B. Non-exempted excused absences are absences incurred due to personal illness or serious illness in the family (documented by an acceptable excuse including a parental note) which are not considered for purposes of truancy, but which are considered when determining whether or not a student is eligible to make up work and tests, receive credit for work completed, and receive credit for a course and/or school year completed.
C. Exempted excused absences are absences which are not considered for purposes of truancy and which are not considered when determining whether or not a student is eligible to make up work and tests, receive credit for work completed, and receive credit for a course and/or school year completed.
D. Unexcused absence is any absence not meeting the requirements set forth in the excused absence and extenuating circumstances definitions, including but not limited to, absences due to any job (including agriculture and domestic services, even in their own homes or for their own parents or tutors) unless it is part of an approved instructional program. Students shall be given failing grades in those days missed and shall not be given an opportunity to make up work.
E. Suspension is a non-exempted absence in which a student is allowed to make up his work and is eligible for consideration for credit provided it is completed satisfactorily and in a timely manner. The absence is considered when determining whether or not a student may or may not be promoted, but is not considered for purposes of truancy. Students absent from school as a result of any suspension shall be counted as absent.
VI. Students in danger of failing due to excessive absences may be allowed by the school principal/designee to make up missed time in class sessions held outside the regular class time. The make-up sessions must be completed before the end of the current semester and all other policies must be met.
ABSENTEE POLICY FOR HIGH SCHOOL & JUNIOR HIGH
I. Student will present statement from parent or physician in the office before school to verify absence. This statement will allow missed work to be made up.
II. All graded work must be made up within a time limit set by the teacher or a failing grade will be assigned. An incomplete may be given when it is not practical to make up work before the end of the next grading period.
III. An attempt will be made to contact the parents of absent students. After a three-day consecutive absence a school official will attempt to contact the parent or guardian to verify the cause of absence. Children under the age of 17 who are being kept out of school in violation of state law will be reported to the Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance.
IV. Absences will be reported on 6 weeks report cards in high school and on 6 weeks report cards in junior high. In addition, parents or guardians will receive written notices by mail when their child has missed 4, 8 or more days in a given semester at high school and 4, 8, 12, 16 or more days in a given term at junior high.
V. Any student in high school missing more than 8 days in a semester will not receive credit for that course for the semester. Any student in junior high missing more than 16 days in a term will not receive credit for that term. Exceptions can be made only in the event of extenuating circumstances approved by the parish Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance, in consultation with the principal.
VI. Absences resulting from extenuating circumstances must be approved by the school principal/designee or the parish Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance within 3 school days of the student's return to school.
VII. Students in high school missing more than 8 days in a semester will receive the grade F6 (no credit) for the semester. Students in junior high missing more than 16 days in a term will receive the grade F6 (no credit) for the term. The only exception is extenuating circumstances.
VIII. Any student in high school 17 or older who accumulates more than 8 daily absences without extenuating circumstances will be dropped from school for the remainder of that semester. This provision does not apply to a single class or classes’ absence.
IX. No student except for the following will leave the campus during the day unless they are signed out by their parents or guardian or a prior release is obtained, in writing, for a specific continuing circumstance.
A. Illness at school: (High School) School official must talk with parent or guardian. (Junior High) Parent must sign student out of school. If parent is not available student does not go home.
B. Doctor or dental appointment: this will be verified by appointment slip before leaving, if possible.
C. Work: D.E., C.O.E, part-time students.
D. School sponsored trips: Sponsor will provide office with list of participants before the trip is made.
E. Home or family emergency
X. Truancy: The unauthorized absence from school. School work missed during truancy cannot be made up. Truancy is of several distinct types and should be treated differently.
A..... Truancy in which a student never reports to school. Discretionary suspension.
B..... Truancy in which student reports to school and leaves without authorization. Mandatory suspension. (closed campus violation)
C. Truancy from a class, study hall or homeroom -absence cannot be excused, work cannot be made up, absence counts in his/her 8 days. Discretionary suspension.
XI. Tardiness will be dealt with in the individual schools through their school policy.
ABSENTEE POLICY FOR ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS
I. Student will present statement from parent or physician to their teacher or to the office to verify absence. This statement will allow missed work to be made up.
II. An attempt will be made to contact the parents of absent students. After a three-day consecutive absence a school official will attempt to contact the parent or guardian to verify the cause of absence. Children being kept out of school in violation of state law will be reported to the Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance.
III. Absences will be reported on 6 weeks report cards. In addition, parents or guardian will receive written notices by mail when their child has missed 4, 8, 12, 16 or more days in a given term.
IV. Any student missing more than 16 days in a term will not receive credit for that term. Exception can be made only in the event of extenuating circumstances approved by the parish Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance, in consultation with the principal.
V. Absences resulting from extenuating circumstances must be approved by the parish Supervisor of Child Welfare and Attendance within 5 school days of the student's return to school. No absences of less than 3 consecutive days will be considered.
VI. No student will leave the campus during the day unless they are signed out by their parent guardian.
IX. ELEMENTARY POLICY ON TARDINESS:
Tardy to School:
A tardy bell will ring five (5) minutes after the first scheduled daily bell. A student arriving to school after the tardy bell has signaled must receive a permit from the school office to enter class. Consequences for school tardies are as follows:
3rd offense....................... letter to parent, mandatory conference with parent
5th offense....................... letter to parent, and referral to Truancy Court
X. Classroom Tardies:
Tardiness is defined as not being in the room when the tardy bell rings. Once the excused absence is documented, the accumulation process of tardies begins anew.
NOTIFICATION OF UNEXCUSED ABSENCE AND UNEXCUSED TARDY
The principal of each school, or his designee, shall notify the parent or legal guardian in writing upon a student’s third unexcused absence or unexcused occurrence of being tardy, and shall hold a conference with such student’s parent of legal guardian. The student’s parent or legal guardian shall sign a receipt for such notification. For purposes of this Section, the term “tardy” shall include but not be limited to leaving or checking out of school unexcused prior to the regularly scheduled dismissal time at the end of the school day but shall not include reporting late to class when transferring from one class to another during the school day.